Eliud Kipchoge & Uhuru to Compete for Same Award

Marathon champion Eliud Kipchoge is on the verge of making history again, if he successfully beats Kenya’s political elite class, including President Uhuru Kenyatta, in tonight’s Mashujaa Awards 2019.

The marathon record holder has been listed alongside the president, his deputy William Ruto, ODM leader Raila Odinga, and Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i in the Outstanding Achievement category.

Kipchoge broke the internet in October after his Ineos 1:59 fete, where he became the first man to run a marathon in less than two hours.

Eliud Kipchoge at the finish line of the Ineos 1:59 Challenge

During the Austria-hosted challenge, Kipchoge ran the 42KM distance race in 1:59:40, leaving 20 seconds to spare for celebrations.

His brilliant performance has earned him enviable recognition worldwide, also earning him prizes worth billions of shillings.

Locally, Kipchoge was awarded the Elder of the Golden Heart (EGH) stature and was voted by Kenyans as a top-five finalist in the Mashujaa Awards.

To win in tonight’s award ceremony, however, Kipchoge’s athletic achievements will have to topple President Uhuru Kenyatta’s political scorecard, that cuts across economic, social, financial and infrastructural divides, which he has been keen on uplifting during his two-term tenure as president.

He will also have to overshadow Matiang’i’s legacy of reforming the once troublesome education and security sectors in the country during his previous service in the Cabinet.

Interestingly, Ruto and Raila’s influence is also on the test once again, a few weeks after ODM downed Jubilee Party in the Kibra Constituency by-election.

Should either emerge the winner in this category, the victory will form part of the two politicians’ journey towards the 2022 General Election, which pundits predict, will be characterized by their candidature.

Other award categories in the Mashujaa Awards include Governor of the Year, featuring Mike Sonko, Hassan Joho, John Lonyangopuo, Kivutha Kibwana, and Alfred Mutua.

The Senator of the Year award will be scooped by either Johnson Sakaja, Mutula Kilonzo Junior, James Orengo, Mithika Linturi, or Kimani Wamatangi.

The MP of the Year award category features Babu Owino, Ndindi Nyoro, Jessica Mbalu, and John Paul, while Woman Representative of the Year Award will be scooped by either Esther Passaris, Gladys Wanga, Rose Museo, Kawira Mwangaza, or Sabina Chege.

The ceremony will be held at the Carnivore Simba Saloon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *