ODM Urges Kibra Residents to Turn Out in Large Numbers, Voting Underway

Voters taking part in ODM nomination exercise to elect its flag bearer for Kibra mini-polls [Photo, Courtesy]
The Orange Democratic Party has urged Kibra residents to turn out in large numbers and elect their preferred candidate in the ongoing party nominations to pick its flag bearer for Kibra mini-polls.

ODM Party tweeted: “We urge our members to turn out in large numbers and exercise their voting right”

A total of 10 candidates are contesting for the party ticket.

The 10 aspirants are:

  1. Stephen Okello Oguwa
  2. Christone Odhiambo Owino
  3. Peter Ochieng Orero
  4. Tony Sira Sine
  5. Reuben William Ayako Ojijo
  6. Obaricks Eric Ochieng Obayi
  7. Brian Shem Owino
  8. Benson Musungu
  9. John Milla Otieno
  10. Bernard Otieno Okoth.

Polling stations opened at 6AM and will close at 5pm to allow for vote counting.

The results will thereafter be transmitted to the tallying centre where the winner will be announced.

IEBC declared the Kibra seat vacant following the death of MP Ken Okoth who succumbed to cancer on July 26.

Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga met the aspirants on September 4th [Photo, Courtesy]
The by-elections which has been scheduled for November 7 has attracted candidates from different parties.

Jubilee Party selected for MacDonald Mariga to represent them in the race.

Former Prime Minister aide Eliud Owalo will vie for the seat under the Alliance Party of Kenya.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *