Kane to face no further FA action after apparent headbutt

Tottenham striker Harry Kane will face no retrospective action from the Football Association following an apparent headbutt on Chelsea’s Cesar Azpilicueta, Press Association Sport understands.

The England captain appeared to put his head towards the Chelsea defender after the pair clashed in the first half of Spurs’ 2-0 defeat at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday.

The incident, which stemmed from Kane closing down David Luiz after Spurs had returned possession to Chelsea, was not acted upon by referee Andre Marriner when it occurred.

Press Association Sport understands the incident involving Kane and Azpilicueta was seen by the match officials at the time, so as such the Spurs forward will not be facing any further disciplinary action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *