Bully USM Alger Kick Gor Mahia Out of Caf Champions League

Gor Mahia vs USM Alger players at Kasarani Stadium on September 29. [Photo: Courtesy]
Gor Mahia’s dream of advancing to CAF Champions League’s group stage has come to an end following their 2-0 defeat at the hands of Algerian side USM Alger on Sunday, September 29 at Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani.

The visiting team scored quick goals in the first half to hit the last nail on K’Ogalo’s coffin taking their aggregate win to a whopping 6-1.  The North Africans had walloped K’Ogalo 4-1 in their first leg match played on September 15 in Algeria.

Skipper Kenneth Muguna, defender Wellington Ochieng’, Dickson Ambundo and striker Nicholas Kipkirui showed some beautiful runs and coordination especially from the 18th minute of the game but USM Alger seemed to have killed the match as early as that.

By the time the match was heading to half-time, only Ambundo, Kipkirui and Muguna had shot towards USM Alger goalkeeper. At some point, in the 36th minute to be precise, Muguna came calling, only to shoot over the bar. And this was only five minutes after keeper Fredicrk Odhiambo was forced to save what would have been the visiting team’s third goal of the match.

In the second half, Gor Mahia head coach Steven Polack brought in Ernest Wendo and Joachim Oluoch for Dickson Ambundo and Boniface Omondi respectively in a bid to shape up the match. Oluoch would come closer to the opponent’s goalkeeper twice but his efforts did not bear any fruits.

USM coach also made three changes in the second-half including resting goal-scorer Aymen Mahious in the 63rd minute with a mission of ensuring that the lead is maintained or maybe widened. And the score-line was eventually stuck at 2-0 by the last minute-whistle.

This result, which is an aggregate of 6-1, means that Gor Mahia drops down to Caf Confederation Cup as was the case when they lost to Esperance of Tunisia by a solitary goal last year

Starting XI: 1. Fredrick Odhiambo (GK), 2. Wellington Ochieng, 3. Geoffrey Ochieng, 4. Maurice Ojwang, 5. Joash Onyango, 6. Tobias Otieno, 7. Lawrence Juma, 8. Kenneth Muguna (C), 9. Boniface Omondi, 10. Nicholas Kipkirui, 11. Dickson Ambundo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *