Troubled Wanyama Fails to Vote For FIFA Best Again!

Lionel MessiFor a fourth year running, Kenya captain Victor Wanyama failed to vote for FIFA BEST as the winners were announced on Monday evening in Milan, Italy.

Barcelona and Argentina forward Lionel Messi was crowned the best, beating Liverpool trio of Van Dijk, Sadio Mane, and Mohammed Salah and Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo to the award.

It was Messi’s sixth accolade after winning the award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

In the women category, controversial American forward Megan Rapinoe beat a host of other contenders to win the accolade after guiding USA to the World Cup title in 2019.

FIFA has since released a breakdown of how national teams’ captains, coaches, and media personnel from respective countries voted.

Once again, Kenya’s captain Victor Wanyama failed to vote, making it four years in a row. Coach Francis Kimanzi too didn’t participate in the exercise.

Journalist Robin Toskin voted on behalf of the media. He cast his first vote for Liverpool defender Van Dijk, Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo came in second while Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah took the third slot.

How other East African countries voted

Abdallah Mubiru (Uganda Cranes Coach)

Mbappé Kylian, Cristiano Ronaldo,  Messi Lionel

Denis Onyango (Uganda Cranes Captain)

Van Dijk Virgil, Salah Mohamed, De Jong Frenkie

Samatta Mbwana (Tanzania Captain)

Van Dijk Virgil, Mbappé Kylian, Mané Sadio

Tuyisenge Jacques (Rwanda Captain)

Salah Mohamed, Van Dijk Virgil, De Jong Frenkie

Berahino Saido (Burundi Captain)

Mohamed Salah, Van Dijk Virgil, Mbappé Kylian

Mashami Vincent (Rwanda coach)

Mané Sadio, Messi Lionel, Cristiano Ronaldo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *