ODM’s Election Board Gives Update on Kibra Voting Exercise

ODM Party elections board say the exercise went on smoothly.

ODM Party is satisfied with nomination exercise in Kibra constituency, says the party’s National Elections Board (NEB).

According to the board, the voting exercise went on smoothly and uninterrupted.

“The Board is satisfied with the exercise so far and wishes to thank all the aspirants and party members for conducting themselves with dignity and decorum throughout the day, “read in part the statement by the Board’s chair Judith Pareno.

The elections board also acknowledged hitches that were experienced when the exercise began and said the issues were solved amicably.

The board has urged aspirants and their supporters to keep calm as the counting exercise is on course.

“Counting of votes is being done at the polling stations and will later be transmitted to the tallying centre where the official results will be announced,” said the party.

The Voting exercise began at 6 a.m. and ended at 5 p.m.

The ODM primaries attracted 10 aspirants, including Peter Orero (Mwalimu) and Christone Odhiambo (Kris Darlin).

Others are Stephen Okello, Tony Sira, Reuben Ojijo, Eric Ochieng, Shem Owino, Benson Musungu, John Otieno and Bernard Okoth.

The winner of the primaries will face off with Jubilee party’s flag bearer McDonald Mariga and ANC’s Eliud Owalo, who is former Raila’s aide, among other candidates.

The by-election is set for November 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *