Nakuru Tops Rift Valley Counties in Revenue Allocations as EMC takes the least

Image result for nakuru county

Nakuru County ranks among top recipients of allocations to counties and is set to get over sh 11 billion in the next financial year.

Narok county did not perform badly and will get sh 9.4 billion. But the other counties will get far smaller allocations with Kajiado getting sh 8. 7 billion, Uasin Gishu sh8.1 billion and Trans Nzoia getting sh 7. 2 billion.

Image result for elgeyo marakwet county

The share for Bomet 6 6 and Kericho will be even lower, with each set to get sh 6.6 billion while Baringo will get sh 6 billion.

West Pokot’s share will be sh 5. 9 billion, Samburu 5. 7 billion and Laikipia sh 5 billion. Elgeyo Marakwet will get 4. 7 slightly above that of the bottom county, Lamu, which is set to get sh 3.4 billion.

Image result for revenue allocations in Kenya 2019

Nairobi will receive sh 16.9 billion, Turkana sh 11. 2 billion, Kilifi sh 11 billion, the same figure as Kakamega.  

For the first time, a number of counties are getting similar amounts. Isiolo, Taita Taveta and Kirinyaga will each get Sh4.49 billion. Kisii and Kwale get Sh8.2 billion each. Meru and Narok will each receive Sh8.5 billion while Marsabit and Migori get Sh 7.1 billion each.

Image result for revenue allocations in Kenya 2019

As per the Division of Revenue Bill, 2019, passed by the National Assembly but rejected by the Senate, counties’ equitable share was pegged at Sh310 billion. This proposal is based on Sh335 billion proposed by the Commission of Revenue Allocation (CRA).

Already, Isiolo senator Fatuma Dullo has protested parameters used in the allocation, saying they are based on the third basic formula yet to be endorsed by Senate.

Image result for revenue allocations in Kenya 2019

“We need to be very careful with these allocations. It seems they are based on the third proposed formula not approved by this House (Senate). Many counties are already losing funds in this new arrangement,” said Dullo, the Deputy Majority Leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *