A mighty Champions fall, Five times Europa League winners crashed out of the trophy

The UEFA Europa League has had surprises just like the UEFA Champions League, big names have been floored and new entrants seen come as they try to fight for the cup.

Five-time Europa League winners Sevilla were knocked out by a last-minute Slavia Prague goal in extra time in a dramatic finish to their last-16 tie.

The Czech side, who last reached the quarters in 2000, needed two goals in the final 18 minutes to go through.

And they found them through Mick van Buren and then Ibrahim Traore in the 119th minute.Simon Kjaer made a mess of clearing Traore’s shot on the line as the Czechs won 4-3, 6-5 on aggregate.

Their players ran to celebrate with the fans at the Eden Arena as they celebrated their best European run since 1999-2000, when they lost to Leeds in the last eight.

Slavia, who drew 2-2 in Spain, had led 1-0 and 2-1 on the night through Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui and then a Tomas Soucek penalty.

But Sevilla battled back both times, with a Wissam Ben Yedder penalty followed by a stunning Munir El Haddadi volley.

The La Liga side took the lead through Franco Vazquez – which also gave them the edge on away goals – before Van Buren and Traore turned it around.

Italian giants InterMilan lost to Frankfurt in a 0-1 aggregate while Chelsea of England crashed Dynamo Kiev 8-0 aggregate, Arsenal, villareal, Slavia Prague, Benfica, Valencia and RB Salsburg also qualified for the quarter finals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *