17 countries pledge to support Kenya in its Big 4 agenda


Kenya’s Big 4 Agenda today received fresh support from 17 countries whose envoys presented their credentials to President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi.

The incoming envoys were Sierra Leone’s High Commissioner Peter Joseph Francis, High Commissioner Lisa Stadelbauer of Canada, Egyptian Ambassador Khaled el Abyad, Ambassador Gariballa Khidir Eldaw of Sudan, Ambassador Hazem Shabat of Palestine, Ambassador Hatem Landoulsi of Tunisia, Ambassador Andrii Pravendnyk of Ukraine, High Commissioner Rahul Chhabra of India and Ambassador Choi Yeonghan of Korea.

Others were Ambassadors Madina Kassamba of Burkina Faso, Mohamoud Ahmed Nur of Somalia, High Commissioners Richard Masozera of Rwanda, David Pierre of Seychelles, Ambassadors Zakariaou Maiga of Niger, Timothee Odjo of Benin, Dharmraj Busgeeth of Mauritius and Gaoussou Toure of Guinea.

President Kenyatta welcomed the envoys and assured them of his Government’s commitment to working closely with them to boost cooperation between Kenya and their respective countries.

“Welcome to Kenya. I look forward to working with you for the mutual benefit of the people of Kenya and those of your respective countries,” President Kenyatta said.

Canada’s new High Commissioner to Kenya, Ms Stadelbauer, affirmed her country’s support to Kenya’s transformative work that entails securing prosperity and inclusion for all Kenyans under the Big 4 Agenda. “We will continue to support development initiatives that ensure Kenyans have access to quality basic education and the skills training they need to achieve the Big 4 agenda so as to enable them play an active role in the economic growth of their country,” the Canadian High Commissioner said.

She applauded Kenya’s contribution to regional peace and security, both as a mediator and as troop contributor.

Presenting his credentials, Ukrainian Ambassador Pravednyk said his country was keen to explore areas of cooperation that would be complaint with his Government’s goals and Kenya’s Big 4 Agenda, specifically in trade and economy, agriculture and machinery, health and education. Ambassador Pravednyk assured President Kenyatta of Ukraine’s support for Kenya’s candidature to the UN Security Council for the 2012-2022 period.

India’s High Commissioner Chhabra said the mutually beneficial cooperation between India and Kenya, especially in the implementation of Kenya’s Big 4 Agenda priority areas of food security, manufacturing, affordable housing and universal health coverage as well as trade, defence, capacity building and people to people contacts will continue to expand. “India and Kenya have had a very special relationship. Our friendship is a time-tested bond, built on foundations of shared values and shared experiences,” the incoming Indian High Commissioner said.

On his part, Korean Ambassador Choi assured President Kenyatta that Korea will fully support the achievement of Big 4 Agenda. “I would like to assure you, once again, of the commitment of the Korean government to contribute to the achievement of your vision and efforts for Kenya’s development.

Korea will continue to be Kenya’s close partner to fully realise the great potential this country has,” Ambassador Choi said.

The incoming envoys also congratulated President Kenyatta for successfully hosting the historic global Sustainable Blue Economy Conference.

“Allow me to take this opportunity to congratulate the Republic of Kenya for hosting a successful High Level Sustainable Blue Economy Conference that was recently held in Nairobi. I wish to reiterate the commitment by the Government of Rwanda to advance the sustainable blue economy development agenda,” said Rwanda’s High Commissioner Masozera.

Ambassadors Pierre of Seychelles and Busgeeth of Mauritius commended Kenya and President Kenyatta the successful blue economy conference and assured of their countries’ readiness to work even more closely in the implementation of projects that promote the blue economy. Present during the credential presentation ceremony were Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary Amb. Monica Juma and Principal Secretary Amb. Macharia Kamau among other senior Government officials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *