How far can this Youthful team take Kariobangi sharks the CAF CC?

SportPesa Shield holders Kariobangi Sharks have submitted a list of 24 players for their maiden Caf Confederation Cup appearance due November 27.

SportPesa Premier League (SPL) Most Valuable Player Eric Kapaito and Ugandan striker George Abege, who claimed a brace in the 3-2 win over Sofapaka in the cup final on October 20, are some of the star players in the squad alongside long-serving trio of Patillah Omoto, Geoffrey Shiveka and Eric Juma.

The William Muluya-coached side has also added to the list new signings Thomas Teka and Nixon Omondi from Nzoia Sugar and Kenya Police respectively.

Teka replaces defender Pascal Ogweno who crossed over to champions Gor Mahia while Nixon comes in to compete for a place with experienced Bolton Omwenga at the left back position.

Midfielder Alvin Mang’eni, who featured for Kakamega Homeboyz in the 2016 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Under-20 tournament, is another new face in the team.

The draw for the preliminary round will be conducted on Saturday in Rabat, Morocco.

Sharks dropped nine players at the closure of the season.They are Gambian Ebrimma Sanneh, Ogweno, Wycliffe Otieno, Francis Manoa, Christopher Kimanthi, Erick Kipkirui, Hillary Otieno, Paul Kamau and Brian Juma.


Goalkeepers: John Oyemba, Gad Matthews, Brian Bwire

Defenders:Thomas Teka, Michael Bodo, Bolton Omwenga, Eric Juma, Geoffrey Shiveka, Nixon Omondi, John Kuol, John Otieno

Midfielders:Patillah Omoto, Vincent Wasambo, Harrison Mwendwa, Duke Abuya, Fidel Origa, Moses Mwangi, Sven Yidah, James Mazembe, Alvin Mang’eni

Strikers:George Abege, Eric Kapaito, Sydney Lokale, Henry Juma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *