Governor Sonko to hire five ministers

The Nairobi County Public Service Board has announced vacancies for five county executive committee members.

An advert on Monday said all applications should reach the Secretary/CEO of the County Public Service Board on or before October 19.

“Nairobi county government wishes to recruit competent and qualified persons to fill five county executive committee positions,” its reads in part.

Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko during a past function. /COURTESY

However, the board did not specify the slots which the five applicants would fill.

“They will be accountable to the governor and will be in charge of county departments as assigned by the governor,” the notice reads.

When contacted for further clarification, Public Service Board chairman Philip Kungu said: “The governor can assign a CEC to any department. He is the appointing officer, let us not be presumptuous.”

The Nairobi county government has 10 slots for executives, of which only seven have had substantive holders.

Governor Mike Sonko suspended Hitan Majevdia (Health) and Vesca Kangogo (Devolution) last month.

Lands executive Charles Kerich is the acting minister for health while Environment’s Larry Wambua is holding brief in the devolution docket.

Others are Emmah Mukuhi (ICT), Peter Njuguna (Agriculture), Newton Munene (Trade), Allan Igambi (Finance), Janet Ouko (Education) and Mohammed Dagane (Transport).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *