Who won big at UEFA Awards?

UEFA took the opportunity to hand out awards to the best players of last year’s competition.

The best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, foward as well as the overall best player from the 2017/18 competition, which saw Real Madrid win the trophy once again after beating Liverpool in the final, were honoured during the event.

UEFA President’s Award 2018

  • Winner: David Beckham

Awarded for outstanding achievements, professional excellence and exemplary personal qualities during their time in football.

“It’s a long time since I was at an awards show like this,” said Beckham as he received his award. On Manchester United’s treble winning season in 1999, he added: “Winning the treble was an incredible moment for me.” UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said the award was given as he “uses the power of football to help disadvantaged children”.

Goalkeeper of the tournament

  • Winner: Keylor Navas (Keylor Navas)

Other nominees: Alisson Becker (Roma, now Liverpool), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, now Paris Saint-Germain).

Defender of the tournament

  • Winner: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Marcelo (Real Madrid), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)

Midfielder of the tournament

  • Winner: Luke Modric (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Kevin De Bruyne ( Manchester City ), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)


Foward of the tournament

  • Winner: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid now Juventus))

Other nominees: Lionel Messi ( Barcelona ), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)


  • Winner: LUKA MODRIC

Other nominees: Cristiano Ronaldo( Real Madrid now Juventus), Mohamed Salah( Liverpool)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *