Maraga reshuffles more court of Appeal judges amid complains

Chief Justice David Maraga has made good his promise of transfering more judges this week despite complains from a section of  members of the judiciary that he was being selective and reactive.

Among the judges that will move to new stations include Justices Erastus Githinji, Martha Koome and Fatuma Sichale  who will serve in Nairobi from April 8 according to the transfer notice by Chief Justice David Maraga.

The three Judges have been transferred to Nairobi  from their current stations based in Kisumu, Malindi and Nyeri respectively.

Other  judges affected by the transfer notice include Justice Wanjiru Karanja who will move from Malindi  to Nairobi. Kisumu based Hannah Okwengu and Jamila Mohammed as well as Nyeri’s Sankale ole Kant will also migrate to Nairobi.

Justices Gatembu Kairu and Agnes Murgor will move from Nairobi to Malindi while Asike Makhandia and Patrick Kiage will have to report on duty in Kisumu.

Justice Roselyne Nambuye and Daniel Masinga have been moved from Nairobi to Nyeri.

The Judiciary’s Deputy Director of Public Affairs and Communication, Catherine Wambui, in a statement said, Justices Mohammed Warsame, Philip Waki and Katrhurima M’Inoti were not affected. Justice Alnashir Visram will also  remain unmoved from his current station based in Malindi.The Court of Appeal President is William Ouko who is also based in Nairobi.

The Judiciary’s statement noted that the transfers were normal and routinely, in line with the requirement for Court of Appeal judges to serve in a station for two years.

Ms Wambui added that justices Visram and Waki were not affected as they retire later this year. Mr Githinji is also set for retirement.

However, most of the judges moved were mentioned in rows concerning the 2017 general election and in corruption cases and had cases filed against them before the Judicial Service Commission.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *